Sufjan Stevens - Illinois [2005]

Feel the Illinoise.
musicmonkey
Founder
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 1:12 am
Favourite TV Show: The Leftovers
Quote: Nevermind, it's pointless
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

New Interview with Sufjan

Unread postby musicmonkey » Thu May 18, 2006 2:51 am

Interview: Sufjan Stevens
Mon: 05-15-06

After the near-universal acclaim for Illinois, the indie pop star will issue The Avalanche, a collection of outtakes, as a way of closing the book on the past year. Here he discusses that record as well as his other projects, copyright law, ornithology, and Dutch punk band the Ex. [Read Full Interview Here]

musicmonkey
Founder
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 1:12 am
Favourite TV Show: The Leftovers
Quote: Nevermind, it's pointless
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Sufi Live

Unread postby musicmonkey » Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:55 pm

WATCH Sufjan live

Tour Dates for Sufjan's fall tour:

Mon. Sept. 11: Nashville, TN, Ryman
Fri. Sept. 15: Austin, TX, Paramount Theater
Sat. Sept. 16: Austin, TX, Paramount Theater
Tue. Sept. 19: New Orleans, LA, House of Blues
Weds. Sept. 20: Atlanta, GA, Fox Theater (PASTE Fest)
Thu. Sept. 21: Chapel Hill, NC, Memorial Hall
Sat. Sept. 23: Indianapolis, IN, Egyptian Theater
Sun. Sept. 24: St. Louis, MO, The Pageant
Mon. Sept. 25: Milwaukee, WI, Pabst Theater
Tue. Sept. 26: Chicago, IL, The Riviera
Thu. Sept. 28: Philadelphia, PA, The Towers
Fri. Sept. 29: New York, NY, Town Hall
Sat. Sept. 30: New York, NY, Town Hall
Mon. Oct. 9: Los Angeles, CA, The Wiltern
Weds. Oct. 11: San Francisco, CA, Zellerbach Hall
Fri. Oct. 13: Portland, OR, Crystal Ballroom
Sat. Oct. 14: Vancouver, BC, St. Andrews Cathedral
Sun. Oct. 15: Seattle, WA, Paramount

scottfinn
Major Contributor
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 9:31 pm

Unread postby scottfinn » Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:55 pm

I am going to have to look into this one...

Tue. Sept. 26: Chicago, IL, The Riviera

musicmonkey
Founder
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 1:12 am
Favourite TV Show: The Leftovers
Quote: Nevermind, it's pointless
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Unread postby musicmonkey » Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:15 pm

As I was reading the reviews of The Avalance at metacritic.com I had to laugh when I read what Rolling Stone had to say:

"The Avalanche packs enough weirdo magic to make it more than just a gift to his growing cult."

And a fine cult indeed Very Happy

I was watching Snow Patrol being interviewed on MTV Canada and they said one of their new songs had a lyrical reference to Soofy's Chicago because that's apparently the only album they were playing non stop for a while.

A very fine and growing cult indeed - go Snow Patrol! Very Happy

Teaching The Way
Registered Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:41 pm
Location: USA

I listened

Unread postby Teaching The Way » Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:23 am

I went to his website and listened to the chicago song. Sounds nice. Is he Christian and a Christian singer? I no nothing about him. But I like the melody and I think it has a really good message to it. I would have to listen to it again.

He sings "All Things Go" is that the song you are talking about (Chicago)?

God Bless Very Happy
A follower of Christ strives to learn all of Jesus teachings, then accepts and does them.

Matthew 7:21-22
"Not everyone who says to Me,'Lord, Lord ,' shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven.
NKJV

Luke 6:46-47
"But why do you call Me 'Lord, Lord ,' and not do the things which I say? 4
NKJV


Return to “Sufjan Stevens”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest