Emotional Maturity

Friendships, relationships, friendlationships, and interpersonal men's issues.
musicmonkey
Founder
Favourite TV Show: The Leftovers
Quote: Nevermind, it's pointless

Emotional Maturity

Unread postby musicmonkey » Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:19 am

Are You Growing Up - Or Just Getting Older?
by Jerome Murray, Ph.D. [1992]

A veteran school teacher was certain she would get the upcoming promotion to Vice-Principal since she had greater seniority than the other teachers. When the appointment went to a teacher with less experience she was outraged.

"How can you do this to me. I've been teaching school for twenty years" she lamented to the School Board Chairman.

With gentle wisdom he responded, "Dear lady, you haven't been teaching twenty years. You've taught one year twenty times."

Does your maturity match your chronological age? Do you grow a little wiser, a little more mature each year of your life? Or have you just lived one year that many times? To find out if you're growing up or just getting older consider the following measurements of age.

MEASUREMENTS OF AGE

1. Chronological Age
Chronological age is a measurement of the time a person has lived---his or her age in years.

2. Physiological Age
Physiological age refers to the degree to which systems of the body have developed relative to chronological age.

3. Intellectual Age
Intellectual age refers to whether a person's intelligence is below, above, or equal to his chronological age.

4. Social Age
Social age compares social development with chronological age. It asks the question; "Does this person relate as well socially as he should for his age?"

5. Emotional Age
Emotional, like social age, compares emotional maturity with chronological age. It asks the question; "Does this person handle his emotions as well as he should for his age?"